PDA

View Full Version : News DX11 For Battlefield 3


Mike Nomad
03-10-2011, 07:34 AM
http://icrontic.com/uploads/2009/11/directx-11-logo.png

DirectX 11 Rendering in Battlefield 3




Conference: Game Developers Conference 2011
2011-03-09 by Johan Andersson



http://www.raidersmerciless.com/images/School.png

http://www.raidersmerciless.com/images/Sniper.png

http://www.raidersmerciless.com/images/Staging.png

A technical deep dive into the DX11 rendering in Battlefield 3, the first title to use the new Frostbite 2 Engine. Topics covered include DX11 optimization techniques, efficient deferred shading, high-quality rendering and resource streaming for creating large and highly-detailed dynamic environments on modern PCs.

http://publications.dice.se/images/pptx.gif (http://publications.dice.se/attachments/GDC11_DX11inBF3_Public.pptx) http://publications.dice.se/images/pdf.gif (http://publications.dice.se/attachments/GDC11_DX11inBF3_Public.pdf)

ALL Pre-Alpha Rendering.

SOURCE (http://publications.dice.se/)

Looks like BF3 is going to be NEW VID CARD time....

[3rdArmy]CW-4
03-10-2011, 11:10 AM
Not only that but a new OS time too. On Steam Stats, Windows XP 32 bit
22.46% of the users, and there are many more I would think that are not using Steam. Also Windows 7 64 bit, 39.02% and Windows Vista 64 bit, 11.35% more than 50% of the share. XP tops out with DX9.

About time to start making a 64bit version of games, wouldn't you think? 64bit versions would run smoother on those 64bit systems.

Kill-Zone
03-11-2011, 02:31 PM
CW-4;90039']Not only that but a new OS time too. On Steam Stats, Windows XP 32 bit
22.46% of the users, and there are many more I would think that are not using Steam. Also Windows 7 64 bit, 39.02% and Windows Vista 64 bit, 11.35% more than 50% of the share. XP tops out with DX9.

About time to start making a 64bit version of games, wouldn't you think? 64bit versions would run smoother on those 64bit systems.


yeah your right

i still dont understand why alot of new games are dx9 only, a hand full are dx10 ,and thats because of a patch.

got 2 gtx470 in sli ,ready for dx11, but where are my games......

but bf3 will hopefully be good, because im done with the cod series.

i really hope crysis 2 will have that dx 11 patch, and bf3 with dx11, then im happy for this year.

[3rdArmy]CW-4
03-11-2011, 02:40 PM
"i still dont understand why alot of new games are dx9 only, a hand full are dx10 ,and thats because of a patch.
"

I can give you four reasons.... XBOX, Playstations, Wii and piss poor ports.

DragonFly
03-11-2011, 08:45 PM
CW-4;90053']"i still dont understand why alot of new games are dx9 only, a hand full are dx10 ,and thats because of a patch.
"

I can give you four reasons.... XBOX, Playstations, Wii and piss poor ports.

Actually, that is no reason at all! But the excuse the game makers use.... (at least for those who believe them......) :BHSmile:

[3rdArmy]CW-4
03-11-2011, 11:13 PM
Actually, that is no reason at all! But the excuse the game makers use.... (at least for those who believe them......) :BHSmile:

Ok make that 5 reasons then.... #5 - We're too dang lazy....

That about sums it up, ya think?

Kill-Zone
03-12-2011, 07:09 AM
CW-4;90053']"i still dont understand why alot of new games are dx9 only, a hand full are dx10 ,and thats because of a patch.
"

I can give you four reasons.... XBOX, Playstations, Wii and piss poor ports.

true but isnt that also becasue the gpu company?

80% of the time when a game is released you get a new patch for your graphics card to support the full functions of it.

i know that

3dmark 11 was released without sli settings, it took weeks before it got updated, isnt that the same with games?

how can nvidia/ati whatever, support dx 11 without testing the game, they cant give you a patch with functions that they not yet have tested themself?

mabey im wrong but mostly you get a patch short after a game release with functions that support the game to the max.

[3rdArmy]CW-4
03-12-2011, 02:37 PM
true but isnt that also becasue the gpu company?

Not really, it's the hardware (gpu) that the makers of the console use. They haven't updated their gpu's to the chips that support DX 10 or 11.

80% of the time when a game is released you get a new patch for your graphics card to support the full functions of it.

The patches from the graphic card makers just optimize their instruction sets to better and more efficiently use whatever DX subset/version that the game uses.

i know that

3dmark 11 was released without sli settings, it took weeks before it got updated, isnt that the same with games?

How big was this update or was it a new version? And as for SLI, that instruction set is for programming both cards to act as one. Just putting this in very basic terms, thinks as SLI doing the same as a dual core CPU vs. a single core CPU. After all a GPU is a specialized CPU made to handle graphics subsets, ie: DX9 -10-11, 2d/3d, and what not. Now these days it can also be programed to do other things if you wish.

how can nvidia/ati whatever, support dx 11 without testing the game, they cant give you a patch with functions that they not yet have tested themself?

Microsoft is the controller/maker of all DX versions. nvidia/ati get the same instruction set as any game maker. The GPU guys can't support DX11 unless the game makers use the DX11 instruction set in the game and maps they make. If the DX 11 functions are not included they can't be executed by the GPU. Think of it this way, DX11 is a 8 pack of spark plugs. So you get them for your '72 Ford Pinto, a car made to use DX9. Well after the tune up you got 4 plugs that don't go anywhere and can't be used. But they can... You have to build a new V-8 engine, but it won't fit into the body or match up with the tranny, so you have to build a new car to fit the new engine. But let's say that you get a car that has options of a 4, 6 or 8 banger as engine options. so you but the one that has the 4, ( Geforce 8600GT - DX9) but later you want to go faster so you go get a Geforce 580 (DX11) and just plug that puppy in, and off you go. The car (game) was built to run on either, one just batter and faster than the other.

mabey im wrong but mostly you get a patch short after a game release with functions that support the game to the max.

This is true. The GPU makers take a look at what insturctions the game makers used and make their drivers more efficient in getting the end results. It's loke counting, I can count to 100 by 1's and it takes a while ti get there. Or I can go 1-2 skip a few 99 - 100. The results are the same, got the 100 as the end result. But if the game programmers stop their instructions at 75, I can never get to 100. If the game doesn't support DX9 10 -11 -27, you will never get those features. Played COD2 in matches using DX7, why? NO blowing snow. That was only coded as a DX9 function. Now if the game is completed patched (recoded) to include maps you will never get those advanced functions of DX10 or 11. If it was just GPU guys, vCOD would be a DX11 supported game.

JMHO and I could be wrong.